This proposal, in order to allow the next day`s debate, was adopted by 328 to 301. [120] [121] 21 Conservative MPs voted in favour of the motion, then were removed from the Conservative whip and dismissed for future elections, as Johnson had threatened in advance. The 21 MPs were Guto Bebb, Richard Benyon, Steve Brine, Alastair Burt, Greg Clark, Ken Clarke, David Gauke, Justine Greening, Dominic Grieve, Sam Gyimah, Phillip Hammond, Stephen Hammond, Richard Harrington, Margot James, Letwin, Anne Milton, Caroline Nokes, Antoinette Sandbach, Nicholas Soames, Rory Stewart and Ed Vaizey. This, combined with Phillip Lee`s move to the Liberal Democrats earlier that day, gave the opposition a 43-seat majority on the government. All amendments to the request were rejected. .